CAGIS Virtual

CAGIS Virtual is a new program that brings STEM into your home with weekly, hands-on, live sessions led by real experts!

CAGIS Virtual events explore a new topic each week with fun virtual and hands-on activities led by real experts and a certified teacher.

Each session includes an introduction to the topic, a hands-on or virtual activity, and time for questions at the end.

Sessions occur on Saturdays at the following times:
Ages 7-12: 8 am Pacific •  9 am Mountain • 10 am Central • 11 am Eastern • 12 pm Atlantic
Ages 11-16: 10 am Pacific • 11 am Mountain • 12 pm Central • 1 pm Eastern • 2 pm Atlantic

To become a member, Join Now.
CAGIS Virtual sessions are open to non-members for $16 per session.  Registration will be open to members before the general public.

Schedule

Upcoming events will be posted at least one month in advance.  Members will have access to event sign up links before the general public.  We expect to always have enough space for all sign ups.  However, in the event of a very popular event, spaces will go on a first-come-first-served basis with others added to a waiting list.  The schedule is subject to change, pending changes in host availability.

Saturday November 21 – Minerals and Mining

What do you picture when you think of mining?  Diamonds?  Rubies?  Gold?  But what about … toothpaste?!  Before your toothpaste makes it to your toothbrush, the ingredients are extracted from the ground; your toothpaste started out looking like a pile of rocks!   

In this session, we will be making our own toothpaste at home and learning about other every day materials that use minerals from mines. 

Preparation: Click here for a list of materials.

Expert: STEM professionals from Mining Matters, an organization that educates young people about Earth sciences and the minerals industry will be leading the session.

Ages 7-12: 11 am ET.  Members sign up here (free).   Non-members sign up here ($16).
Ages 11-16: 1 pm ET.  Members sign up here (free).    Non-members sign up here ($16).
To become a member, join here.

Saturday November 28 – Soap, Shampoo, and Cosmetic Chemistry

You wash your hands every day, but are all soaps created equally?  Do some clean better than others?  Did you know that there is a difference between soap and detergent?  

We will be conducting a cosmetic chemistry experiment to test the performance of the soaps, shampoos, and detergents you have at home!

Preparation: Check back for a list of materials
 
Expert: Lexie Griffith is a chemist whose work involves formulating cosmetics and personal care products. 
 

Ages 7-12: 11 am ET.  Members sign up here (free).   Non-members sign up here ($16).
Ages 11-16: 1 pm ET.  Members sign up here (free).    Non-members sign up here ($16).
To become a member, join here.

Saturday December 5 – a STEM Escape (Bonus event)

You’re attending a CAGIS event on biotechnology when the event host asks you and some friends to get some supplies from the storage room. You walk into the room, the door closes and locks behind you.  You’re stuck! You walk further and find that you’re suddenly in the middle of a forest, in a magical, winter wonderland.  Where are you?  How did you get there?  How do you get back?  Use clues and your knowledge of science, technology, trades, engineering, and maths (STEM) to figure out the mystery and find your way back!

This is a bonus event organized by the CAGIS Teen Ambassadors.

Preparation: no preparation necessary
 
Time: 9 am Pacific •  10 am Mountain • 11 am Central • 12 pm Eastern • 1 pm Atlantic
All ages will be meeting at the same time, but they will be split into breakout rooms divided by age during the session. 
 

Members sign up here (free).   Non-members sign up here ($5).  To become a member, join here.

Upcoming sessions

Sessions will be posted at least one month in advance.  Sessions in the winter and spring include:

The Science of Chocolate

Aviation and Things that Fly

Renewable Energy and Climate Change

Coding in Python

Space and Planetary Science

There will be no events in December and the season will restart on January 16.  View past events here.