Check your time zone for the session start time: 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain Time, 1 pm Eastern, 2 pm Atlantic.

This registration form is for participants who need to purchase a ticket.  Already a Virtual Member?  Click the back button on your browser and use the Member form.

What colour are your eyes? What colour is your hair?  You look the way you do because of the genes you inherited from your parents. Genes are microscopic and carry information about how living things look and function. Genes are made of DNA, which is short for deoxyribonucleic acid.

In this session, we will be doing DNA extraction, a procedure scientists use to isolate DNA from the nucleus, or centre, of cells. Extracting DNA can help study the genetic causes of diseases, find strains of crops that are resistant to certain pests, and more.

We will each be extracting DNA from a strawberry with materials you can find at home, and learning about biotechnology and genetic engineering from Julie Legault.

Preparation: We'll email you with a list of materials

Expert: Julie Legault is the Founder and CEO of Amino Labs, and co-author of Zero to Genetic Engineering Hero: The Beginners Guide to Programming Bacteria at Home.

When
October 3rd, 2020 1:00 PM
Location
Online Event,
Canada
Event Fee(s)
Event Ticket $ 16.00